Monday, May 25, 2020
Home SPORTS India qualify for Women's World Cup 2021 after ICC allocates points for...

India qualify for Women’s World Cup 2021 after ICC allocates points for cancelled series


The India ladies’s cricket crew has certified for the Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 to be held in New Zealand, the International Cricket Council introduced on Wednesday.

India together with hosts New Zealand, Australia, England and South Africa are 5 groups who’ve sealed a direct berth for the quadrennial 50-over World Cup. The Women’s World Cup is scheduled to be performed from February 6 to March 7 in 2021.

The ICC made the announcement after its “Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window” — 2017 to 2020.

India, who reached the ultimate within the 2017 Women’s World Cup, have received 10 matches and misplaced eight out of the 21 they’ve performed within the ongoing cycle of ICC Women’s Championship.

Mithali Raj-led Indian facet final performed an ODI series in November 2019. They got here again from behind to beat West Indies in West Indies 2-1 in a 3-match series.

“Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table,” an ICC launch mentioned.

“The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is scheduled to be performed from 3-19 July in Sri Lanka, that is topic to assessment because of the Covid-19 pandemic.



“The 10 groups vying for the three remaining locations within the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 would be the hosts, Sri Lanka, together with Pakistan and West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, the 2 different groups with ODI standing, Bangladesh and Ireland, and the winners of the 5 regional qualifiers – Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and Netherlands (Europe).”

Screengrab from ICC web site

Technical Committee on cancelled India vs Pakistan series

“The India-Pakistan series was initially scheduled within the sixth spherical of the competitors, between July and November 2019, however regardless of the very best efforts of each Boards, it was unable to happen,” the discharge added.

“In respect of the India v Pakistan series, the Technical Committee concluded the series couldn’t be performed due to a Force Majeure occasion after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to acquire the required authorities clearances to permit India to take part within the bilateral series towards Pakistan that varieties a part of the ICC Women’s Championship.

“Meanwhile, two other ICC Women’s Championship series have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand in the last round of matches.”

Get real-time alerts and all of the information in your cellphone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Cost of travel to be borne by travelers: Fresh SOP for Indians stranded abroad issued

New Delhi: The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) on Sunday issued contemporary...

Delhi govt directs private hospitals to reserve 20% of total capacity for Covid-19 patients

New Delhi: As the Coronavirus instances proceed to mount within the nationwide...

IMD issues yellow warning for Odisha, temperatures to soar

New Delhi: Predicting that there could be no respite from the heatwave,...

Fadnavis expresses shock over ‘sadhu’s murder, seeks severe punishment to accused

New Delhi: Former Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Sunday expressed shock...

Recent Comments